Thibaut Courtois: “The first goal should never have been allowed”

Chelsea shotstopper Thibaut Courtois hit out at Referee Anthony Taylor for his decision to award Arsenal an early goal, a decision he believe could have been chalked off for two offences not one.

Speaking to ChelseaFC.com after the Blues’ 2-1 defeat to Arsenal in the FA Cup final, Courtois said, “The first goal should never have been allowed – it was clearly a hand ball and then Ramsey was offside because he was interfering in play. I think it was a handball even if it was maybe not deliberate. His hands were not in a natural position. At the start of every season they tell us the rules and at Manchester and now the hands were not where they should be.

“I think it should have been disallowed for that but not only that. If Ramsey was not in an offside position, I could go out and touch the ball but I had to stop because he was there. They gained momentum after that and they dominated. They could have scored one or two more and we have to accept that as well. We knew they would play well as they have the last weeks. We knew we would face a tough game,” he added.

Courtois though admitted that his team did not play to their potential, adding, “As a team we were not at our best. We tried our best but it wasn’t to be. We will try again next year. We wanted to end on a high, now we feel sad. Winning is everything so this is hard to face but we have to try to forget it.”

Courtois did congratulate Arsenal for their win, saying, “We are obviously disappointed but I want to say congratulations to Arsenal. They played a good game.”

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *